2014 Scholarship Application

Houston Association of Hispanic Media Professionals announces Scholarships

The Houston Association of Hispanic Media Professionals (HAHMP) is proud to inform you that we are now accepting applications for the 2014 Scholarships for high school and college undergraduate students interested in journalism, public relations or any media related profession.

Who is elegib le to apply for HAHMP Scholarships:

High school seniors, college undergraduates and first-year graduate students who are pursuing careers as print, photo, broadcast or online journalists or in public relations.
Students must plan to attend, full-time for the entire academic year, a community college or university that is within the United States or Puerto Rico. Applicants must reside in the Greater Houston Area


POSTMARK DEADLINE: Extended to March 14, 2014

Scholarship Amount:



Access the application online (click here for PDF)

Lone Star Awards submissions due April 1

Received via email:

You’re invited to enter the 2011 Lone Star Awards to identify the best Texas journalists in print, online, radio and TV. The postmark deadline is this Friday, April 1, 2011. Entering is easy and inexpensive!

Here’s a link to the Houston Press Club website, www.houstonpressclub.com, where you’ll find a PDF booklet of the categories, rules and an entry form.  The fee is only $30 per entry and all winners of 1st, 2nd and 3rd place receive an engraved trophy!  Plus, winners in the “of the year” categories receive a $150 check.

There are also categories for journalism students and PR communicators, so share the wealth and help keep journalism and communications alive and well in Texas!

If you have any questions, please call Debra Fraser at 713-743-1822 or email dfraser@kuhf.org.  We look forward to hearing from you and good luck!

…and, yes, it is OK for entry checks to arrive after the postmark deadline…


KHOU Earns National Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence

News shared by HAHMP members from KHOU:

Banner year continues for Houston station with two National Murrow Awards in 2010

HOUSTON, TX – The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has recognized KHOU with two National Edward R. Murrow Awards. The station earned top honors for a large market television station with the award for Overall Excellence, recognizing coverage that consistently demonstrates depth and scope.

“Winning the Murrow Award for Overall Excellence is an honor shared by everyone who works at KHOU, said Susan McEldoon, KHOU President and General Manager. “I am proud of their efforts, their good work and of the commitment they demonstrate every day to serving viewers.”

KHOU also received a National Edward R. Murrow Award in the Video News Documentary category for the investigative special “Under Fire: Discrimination and Corruption in the Texas National Guard.”

Together, the pair of Murrow Awards highlights an already exceptional year for KHOU. In the past 12 months, KHOU has won more awards for journalistic excellence than any other station in Texas, in part due to the impact and success of “Under Fire,” which continues to capture national journalistic honors.

“Under Fire” was the presentation of a two-year investigation that exposed ongoing sexual discrimination and financial corruption throughout the highest ranks of the Texas National Guard. Reports by the 11 News Defenders investigative team – reporter Mark Greenblatt, executive producer David Raziq, photojournalist Keith Tomshe and art director Robyn Hughes – led to significant action and reform.

“It’s a testament to the commitment our journalists share to not just cover the news,” said Keith Connors, KHOU Executive News Director. “At KHOU we take pride in uncovering the important stories that impact our community.”

“Under Fire” has been recognized with a duPont-Columbia Award, the Investigative Reporters and Editors (IRE) Medal, a George Foster Peabody Award, a National Headliner Award for Investigative Reporting and it was a finalist for the Goldsmith Prize from the Shorenstein Center at Harvard.

Other accolades for KHOU this year include six regional Edward R. Murrow Awards the most of any large market station in the Texas-Oklahoma region and 23 Texas Associated Press Broadcasters Awards again more awards with more first place finishes than any large market station in the state.

The National Edward R. Murrow Awards are presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) for excellence in electronic journalism. Winners will formally be recognized on October 11 at the RTDNA Awards Dinner in New York. For a complete list of 2010 winners, visit www.rtdna.org.

KHOU-TV is part of Belo Corp. (BLC), one of the nation’s largest pure-play, publicly-traded television companies, that owns and operates 20 television stations (nine in the top 25 markets) and their associated Web sites. Belo stations, which include affiliations with ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, CW and MyNetwork TV, reach more than 14 percent of U.S. television households in 15 highly-attractive markets. Belo stations rank first or second in nearly all of their local markets. Additional information is available at www.belo.com, www.khou.com or by contacting Lisa Shumate, Director of Programming and Marketing, KHOU-TV at 713-521-4335.